Wednesday, October 18, 2006

CAE Students

Hello, we are the CAE students from IH Terrassa.


Hello, my name is Joan Amorós, I am 17 years old I live in Terrassa although I was born in Sant Cugat. I have a big family, I am the oldest of five children. Joan, Pere and me are studying at the high school in Matadepera, Anton and Isabel, the youngest, at the infant school.

When I was younger, I wanted to become a football player and to be the star of the Barça team but I wasn’t good enough and so I started to play hockey, I’m better at hockey but unfortunately hockey players don’t earn very much money.
I have travelled around Europe, usually with my parents and sometimes with friends. I know France, Italy, Germany and Sweden.

In five years I would like to be working in advertising, for this, I have to work hard to get the degree.
I would also like to live in another country, maybe England but only for a short time because my dream is living in a nice house in Matadepera with my own family, wife, children, dog… but before that I want to travel to different places, especially Vietnam, which is where my youngest sister was born.


Hello, my name is Yolanda Morales and I’m 37 years old. I was born in Terrassa and I’ve been living here ever since then. I have all my family and friends here so I’m pleased to live there. I like my city. I have two daughters who are 10 and 5 years old.

My childhood and teenager years were very happy. I belong to a close family, and I have two older sisters and a younger brother and we all get on very well.

When I was a child I thought that I could never be a teacher; I didn’t like that occupation, because my parents were teachers and they didn’t encourage me. But, when I decided to go to university, I chose Teaching degree. This is a great example of how people could change over time. When I finished, I completed my education doing another degree, more specifically, about pedagogy.

My first job was related with education too. I started teaching particular lessons to some children who have problems in school subjects. Now, I’m the head teacher of a primary school located here in Terrassa and I like my job in spite of it involving a lot of responsibility.

My plan in short-term future is continuing in this job and doing my hardest work: being mother. When my daughters are older, I will have more free time to spend with my husband doing pleasant things, like travelling, for example.


Hello my name is Elisabet Mallofre, I’m 28 years old and I was born in Terrassa, which is near to Barcelona. I’ve lived there since I was born. For the 5 last years I’ve been living with my boyfriend whose name is Manel. I like Terrassa particularly because it’s a quiet city, not very crowded and I‘ve many friends here including my family.

I'm sure I had a happy childhood but I really missed having a brother to play with and to share my toys with. When I was young I dreamt of being a vet in the future because I loved pets but when I saw my first animal documentary my passion disappeared because the animals I saw there looked nastier than I could possible have had imagined. Right then I decided that I’ll focus my future on something related with the business world.

I luckily found a job related with local business, so now I’m working in a business school in its academic department and apart from that I’m studying law. I like my job because it’s very sociable and involves meeting new people every day. I particularly like helping them with their problems because it makes me feel really useful. In a short term I would like to finish my degree and find a new job if possible, and in a long term I would like to have a child but, by now, it’s something of what I’m unsure.


Hello! I’m going to write about a companion from my English class, I'm going to introduce him by explaining some punctual unformation about his private life.

His name is Albert Garrido and he’s 17. He was born in Terrassa and he lives in this city with his parents and his older sister, Marta who is 22.

Albert likes living in Terrassa because it is not a crowded city and he has his friends and his family, however he thinks that the city doesn't offer enough entertaintment.

When he was a child he wanted to be a doctor, but he soon forgot it. Of course, he also wanted to be a famous football player as all the children desire to be.

Now he’s studying the 2nd level of Batxillerat at Pia’s school. Next year he would like to study Law and ADE (Administration and Business Marketing) or something like this. He wants to study both degrees at the same time. He hopes to live abroad for a year improving his english as his sister did. She worked for a year in Cardiff and Albert also wants to have experience that situation.

His long term ambition is to work as a manager in a business, he wants to be the boss and I hopes he achieves it.

He hasn’t said anything about his future personal life, about living with a partner or having children... Maybe he hasn’t thought about it yet.

Monday, October 16, 2006

Ambitions - past and present

Hello my name is Gary Smith, I’m 35 years old and I was born in Leicestershire in the middle of England. I live in Barcelona now and I have been here for only five months but I really love it. I like the people, the city, and especially the weather. Before moving to Barcelona I lived in Manchester and worked for Manchester University.

When I was young I wanted to be an actor, I really enjoyed the theatre and was involved in lots of productions as a child. But I very soon realised that I really wasn’t that good at acting so I thought about how I could get involved in the theatre in other ways. I enjoyed marketing at University and so once I graduated I got a job working in the Marketing Department of a professional theatre. I worked in the industry for 13 years working my way up to Head of Department, I worked all over the UK in London’s West End and internationally. I am pleased that I have gone some way to achieving my childhood ambition.

However, now I am working in a different industry. I am an English teacher and teach at IH in Terrassa. I am new to teaching in Spain and over the next year I really want to improve my Spanish and gain more experience of life as a teacher here in a different country. I would like to continue teaching English for 5 or 6 years but ultimately maybe in ten years I would like to set up my own business here in Spain, maybe a coffee shop or restaurant. I really enjoy food and I think it would be great to have a business of my own.

Sunday, October 15, 2006

CAE Welcome

Welcome to the new Blog for the CAE students of room 14 at IH Terrassa

More information to follow.